The Beauty of Flaws

For those who don’t know, I enjoy a Cartoon Network show known as Steven Universe.

Actually enjoy is an understatement but instead of fan gushing, let me get straight to the point of my post. A recent episode ” Historical Friction” the main character Steven learns from his friend Jamie why having a character in a play that is perfect and never struggles is ultimately boring. He later goes on to share this with one of his foster mothers, Pearl and how satisfying it is when a character who makes mistakes keeps trying and doesn’t give up until they reach their goal. (Which resonates with her especially since the show had a week of episodes revolving around a story arc where Pearl angered her friend Garnet by lying to spend more time with her.)

Something I took from this was making a list of my personal flaws that could come up via personal reflection and comments from people close to me. It’s tough exposing your hang ups especially on the internet but here they are:

  • Unrelentingly push side in argument past point of interest
  • Try too hard to yield to other side if other side is close to me
  • Prone to procrastination
  • Inconsiderate of other side in argument
  • Bad at keeping touch with friends I don’t see everyday or long distance
  • Rather find personal hobbies or entertainment than seeking a possibly good time with others
  • React to criticism of habits/character with excuses or sarcasm, constructive or otherwise
  • Reluctance to changing routine despite bouts of longing for participating in things with others

Sometime next week, I will post the opposite, my strengths that I think makes me great. (Something else an episode of this show touches upon).

Posted on July 23, 2015, in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Andrew McDowell

An Author of Many Parts

Passion For STEM

Blog dedicated to science discussion by teenage science enthusiasts

Rationalising The Universe

one post at a time

Moosmosis

Exploring an Arts & Sciences Education

unbolt me

the literary asylum

518-songofmypeople

A town everyone hates, yet no one leaves...

L.M. White

Words in Progress: Writing About Writing

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Deidra Alexander's Blog

I have people to kill, lives to ruin, plagues to bring, and worlds to destroy. I am not the Angel of Death. I'm a fiction writer.

Build a Fantasy World

Fantasy Writing & Worldbuilding Tips

Election Fraud Watch 2016

2016 Democratic primary election fraud evidence hub

writingcomics

Creative writing through visual fun

Heartstring Eulogies

Conjured by Sarah Doughty

Journeys in Spirit

with Cristen Rodgers

Every Writer Needs a Safe Place to Write

a blog where one writer pitches ideas and shares thoughts throughout her development process

Introvert Playground

A magical land of quiet introspection and peaceful alone time.

schlaflosinwien

Life in the city that never sleeps ... manchmal, auf Deutsch!

ANIKET SHARMA PHOTOGRAPHY

World through my lens

I Do & Adieu

I Do & Adieu

